Apple Newton

It was 1993 - the notion of "organizer" or "PDA" wasn't invented yet - when Apple introduced the Newton Message Pad. As usual, the Newton was ahead of the time and really had style.

Umm... if there hadn't been this price tag of $699. In Germany (and France) Apple offered Newtons with native language for 1499 Deutsche Mark.

picture (126kByte): Newton front view

This Newton is localized for Germany. It was sold by Siemens. Remarkable: the missing Apple logo.

The original Newton Message Pad (short OMP) had the following features:

You write on the Newton with a special pen which rests in a sheath at the side if not in use. The handwriting recognition was exceptionally for the times and the processing power of the Newton. After less than one hour of training the Newton could reasonably recognize my dreadful scrawl. It helped a lot to enter longer words and names into the dictionary.

picture (155kByte): Newton rear view

A look into the battery compartment and at the filler for the PCMCIA slot.

The Newton is powered by four AAA batteries or rechargeables. With four high energy alcalines it runs since several days. Fifteen years ago users bitterly complained about the mediocre runtime; obviously batteries have improved since.

A button cell of type CR-2032 fuels the memory during battery change. Too bad, if it has lost power after years in the left upper drawer. Of course the user would've been informed immediately about a low battery power, if he'd have flipped the power switch.

picture (131kByte): Newton with cable

The PC cable does have a DB-25 connector on one side and an 8-pin mini-DIN connector on the other side.

To replicate the notes and appointments with a computer, the Newton can be plugged into a PC or a Mac via serial cable (38400 baud). The software called Newton Connection Kit was shipped on CD. Since i don't have a PC with Windows 95/98 anymore, an old PowerMac 6100/66 with MacOS 7.5.5 had to serve as receiver. The connection kit was swiftly installed and making a connection and moving the data to the Mac was a breeze.

If you need software for the Newton, simply go to the United Network of Newton Archives.

As my next step i'll install some usefull utilities: Tetris, Solitaire, Minesweeper, ...


Copyright 2008 Peter Koch

Apple Newton

Es war im Jahre 1993 - die Begriffe "Organizer" und "PDA" waren noch nicht erfunden - da brachte Apple den Newton Message Pad heraus. Wie so manches Gerät von Apple war der Newton seiner Zeit voraus und hatte echt Stil.

Tja, wenn da der Preis nicht gewesen wäre... schlappe 699 Dollar. In Deutschland (und Frankreich) wurden länderspezifisch angepaßte Newtons für 1499 DM angeboten.

Bild (126kByte): Newton von vorne

Dieses Exemplar ist ein deutscher Newton, der von Siemens vertrieben wurde. Besonders auffällig: das fehlende Apfel-Logo!

Der original Newton Message Pad (kurz OMP genannt) konnte mit folgenden Ausstattungsmerkmalen aufwarten:

An der Seite steckt der Stift, mit dem man auf dem Display schreiben kann. Der Newton hat eine für seine Zeit und Leistung erstaunlich gute Handschrifterkennung. Nach einer Stunde Training konnte der Newton meine Handschrift schon passabel erkennen. Sehr geholfen hat es, längere Worte und Eigennamen in das Wörterbuch einzutragen.

Bild (155kByte): Newton von hinten

Hier der Newton von hinten mit Blick in das Batteriefach. Zu sehen ist auch der Blind-Einschub für den PCMCIA-Schacht.

Der Newton wird von vier AAA-Zellen gespeist, entweder normale Batterien oder Akkus. Mit vier Super-Power Alkalinen rennt der Newton jetzt schon mehrere Tage. Vor 15 Jahren hingegen beklagten sich die Benutzer über die kurze Laufzeit. Naja, auch die Batterien haben sich in der Zwischenzeit weiterentwickelt.

Damit beim Batteriewechsel nichts verloren geht, sorgt eine Knopfzelle vom Typ CR-2032 für Reservestrom. Dumm, wenn diese nach langer Liegezeit auch leer ist. Ansonsten informiert der Newton den Benutzer sofort über einen niedrigen Batteristand.

Bild (131kByte): Newton mit Kabel

Das Kabel zum Anschluß an einen PC hat auf der einen Seite einen DB-25-Stecker, auf der anderen Seite einen 8-poligen Mini-DIN-Stecker.

Zum Abgleichen der Termine und Notizen kann der Newton an einen PC oder einen Mac angeschlossen werden. Die Software - das sogenannte Connection Kit - wurde auf CD mitgeliefert. Die Verbindung geschah über eine serielle Schnittstelle (38400 Baud). Da ich keinen PC mit Windows 95/98 mehr habe, mußte ein PowerMac 6100/66 mit MacOS 7.5.5 als Gegenstelle herhalten. Das Newton Connection Kit war schnell installiert und auch Verbindungsaufnahme und der Datenabgleich funktionierten ganz ausgezeichnet.

Jede erdenkliche Software für den Newton bekommt man beim United Network of Newton Archives.

Als nächstes will ich mal ein, zwei nützliche Utilities installieren: Tetris, Solitaire, Minesweeper, ...


Copyright 2008 Peter Koch